Formatting your eBook (Prequel)

Hello, everyone. I have been doing some research lately because I realized that I did not like how my ebooks looked. I had read Lothaire by Kresley Cole on my tablet and realized how beautiful her title page and headings were and knew there had to be a secret. Why should we self-published authors have plain, simple looking text? With a bit of work, you can transform your own ebook into a pretty book, too! Anyone who has read the formatting guides from Amazon or Barnes and Noble knows that any fancy headings you make will not work. They only have a set of prefixed fonts which e-reader devices can discern, and no matter what strange font you choose, it will not work. But after some lengthy research, I found the answer to fix this!

Here is an example of what I’ve done (notice this is a screenshot of the book in ePub format):

Formatting your ebook's title page

This is my new title page. Here I have used a fancy font that I’ve downloaded from the internet. I’ve also added a vignette for a little flair. Looks kind of nice, right?

Especially compared to how it used to look (see: screenshot 2).

In the next few blog posts, I’m going to go through the (sometimes tedious-not always easy-but worthwhile) process of showing you, in detail, how to do this. If you happen to know a bit of HTML and CSS then this should be cake. If not, then you can still do this, you’ll just have to be a little careful of closing tags and such.

Now, explaining how to do this will not be done in one blog post. So I will divide how to do this into parts. If, at any time, you have questions or do not understand something, just leave a comment and I’ll get back to you.

formatting your chapter headers

My new chapter headings

Now, not only will you be able to style your title page, you will be able to style all of your chapter headings as well. Something like this:

It looks pretty nice, huh? Much better than the typical Arial, bold, 14pt font–boring. If you’re a reader of my books, you might ask me why you haven’t seen this fancy setup yet. The answer is that I’m busy and this is rather time consuming. I’m nearly done formatting Chains of Frost (see: screenshots) and will then move on to the rest of The Bellum Sisters Trilogy.

I will try to make the first post on formatting your eBook this week. Thanks for stopping by!

-T. A. Grey

www.tagrey.com