Where to publish your e-book

While I’ve only been self-publishing for almost a year (from this day) I have learned so much since then. Now I’m one of those people who, when I learn something new, wants to run around and tell everyone. Yes, it’s very annoying for my fiance, but he’s a good man and listens (or pretends to well enough). I admit I do the same thing to him when he starts in on a new hardrive he’s going to buy. Once he starts spewing off specs and abbreviations I don’t understand, my mind wanders.

Back to publishing! I have certainly not learned all there is to yet. It seems like everyday I learn a new formatting trick, a new way to advertise, or learn of a new website to sell my books at. It’s exciting for me–droll for the fiance. So in this post I’d like to list all of the websites I’ve learned of where you can publish your e-book. I will also talk a little about the pros and cons from my own experience working with them. You may know of all of these, but if you don’t then I hope you’ve found another outlet to sell your reads!

  • AMAZON: Of course! Every sells their books on Amazon. As of right now they hold the largest portion of the market with e-readers, meaning they sell more e-books(1). This also means you’ll have a lot more competition in whatever genre you write it, but without a doubt, sell your book here. One thing to be wary of is Amazon’s Select program which requires your book to be sold exclusively at their store. If you have a single standalone title this may not be a bad thing; however, you are possibly losing a large number of readers through other publishing sites. To learn more about this program and tons of other great information on self-publishing check out Mark Coker’s (the president of Smashwords) new free ebook The Secrets to eBook Publishing.
  • BARNES AND NOBLE: Second largest seller of ebooks. Although second in line to Amazon,  Barnes and Noble and their awesome Nook users still have some very good numbers(2). Just like with Amazon, you can make your own publishing account and have your book up within 1-3 days. This is probably my favorite site to publish at, though I’m not sure why.
  • SMASHWORDS: Smashwords isn’t always a known website. I’ve heard many people say to me “what’s that?” However, it’s an excellent website for writers, and sometimes I see it go under people’s radars. Many authors have gone on to become bestselling Indie authors because of Smashwords (for more on that see The Secrets to eBook Publishing). Smashwords is excellent because it’s free to use, and if you sign up for Premium Distribution (also free) then you get a FREE ISBN number. This means that Smashwords will then distribute your book to the Sony, Kobo, and iTunes. This is huge! You cannot self-pub with these companies without Smashwords. Apple holds a rather large share of ereading devices from their phones to their iPads. And personally, I want my books to get to Sony and Kobo readers because they are out there. The larger your audience, the more you have to potentially sell. Use smashwords.
  • All Romance eBooks: [Notice: this works for a variety of genres; not just romance] All Romance eBooks is a combinationof three websites including OmniLit and AReCAFE. When you publish your book there, you actually have to ‘apply‘ to be accepted. Once accepted, you can upload your books. One really neat thing about this website (or combination of) is that they have their own bestsellers list. So it’s possible that if you sell well you can make it on the front page, which is always great. And then you will probably sell even more.
  • Your Website: I haven’t done this, but I’ve thought about it. Technically, I know I can make a store on my website and sell both ebooks and POD books if I wanted. I haven’t done this because I think it will look unprofessional, but if anyone has done this and it’s been successful I would love to know about it.
 I didn’t touch on any websites where you have Print-on-Demand because I don’t have any books in print, and I don’t want to talk about something I’m not familiar with. I hope that if you’re already publishing or considering publishing that you’ve learned about a new website to help you along the way!
Happy writing everyone,
T. A. Grey
Sources:

(1)http://www.the-digital-reader.com/2012/03/20/bowker-amazon-dominates-the-world-ebook-market/

(2)http://www.investorplace.com/2012/02/can-barnes-nobles-nook-grow-its-market-share-bks-amzn-aapl/

2 thoughts on “Where to publish your e-book

Write something awesome here....

