Fantastic Writing Software!

Are you a bit of a nerd? I think there’s a bit of one in each of us. For me, I absolutely love software (and many video games). Trying out even a demo of software gets me pumped with excitement—almost like buying a new book. Naturally, I have taken my love for writing and my love for software and combined those. I have tried, literally, nearly a dozen different kinds of writing software, and today I’m going to show you the best ones I’ve found. Also, most of these programs are FREE!

Some of the writing software might even be something you hadn’t thought about! By the way, if you know of writing software that I haven’t listed or that you think I’ll like, drop a comment and leave a link for it! Me love software!

yWriter 5

by Spacejock Software

I LOVE yWriter 5. For one, this program is FREE. If you’re read my other article on Improving Your Writing, then you already know a little bit about this. For those you who haven’t, then read on. yWriter is a program written by a writer and programmer. I think this makes the program even greater because it’s truly done for a writer’s needs.

In this program, you create a project, and then add chapters and scenes as you write. It comes with an autobackup feature, a word counter, easily moveable scene and chapters, character, item, and location development. What I mean by this development is that you can add as many characters as you want and fill in their Bio/Notes/Goals/Pic/Name. Note: this program is not a text editor, meaning if you want to check for errors you must export your project (very easy to do) and then edit it in Word or whichever program you choose.

Check out the software here: http://www.spacejock.com/yWriter.html

Storybook

Storybook is fantastic for writers who outline and plan or use index cards. This is also

FREE. Storybook is a fun program where you can add ‘threads’ that follow your main characters. For instance, in a novel you might have a thread for your Hero and Heroine. You then fill in the Title on the ‘card’ and a paragraph detailing the scene. You also have many different settings on how you can lay your cards out. As a side note, just know that I’m calling them cards because to me that’s what they look.

Storybook also allows you to create detailed information for Characters and Locations. It is also a great way to outline or view your Scenes and Chapters. It is very nicely organized into Parts –> Chapters–>Scenes.

Check it out here: http://storybook.intertec.ch/joomla/index.php/download-top

CollageIt

I must admit, I haven’t had the pleasure of trying this software yet; however, I am really looking forward to it! I found this software because for my next big series I want to have many visual cues. I thought that having a collage of images of the locations, people, and items in my story might improve my descriptions. (And who knows, maybe it will be inspiring)

CollageIt is simple to use though. You simply add in the images you want and then you customize the layout of the images until you are satisfied. Now, if only I had a good color printer, I could print this out and keep it next to my laptop. This program is also great for Mac users since it’s available for both Windows and Mac.

Check it out here: http://www.collageitfree.com/

WriteWay

This is what I’m currently using! I have stopped using yWriter simply because this is very affordable and I LOVE it more! WriteWay is designed by romance author Lara Adrian’s husband! How cool is that?

This program comes in two different editions. Download the 30-day demo (free) first and see if you love it as much as I do. I mean really, I loooove this program. This program has so many awesome features that I’m not going to list them all here, please just visit their site to see them all. But I am going to talk about a few of the awesome features.

Storyboarding, great scene organization, and Character worksheets are some of the key features to this program. The storyboarding allows you to create little index like card (like in the Storyboard software) and view them as you write in a neat little box or in full view. I love this because instead of keeping 2 programs open, I just need one. You can also organize your project into Acts–>Chapters–>Scenes and develop your Front/Back Matter in the program. Additionally, if you have research you can do this in the program which includes clipping in images/text and browsing the internet through the program.

Sounds great, right? It is! That’s why I bought the pro version for $49. For the price this program is so worth the money. The standard version looks just as great though and it’s even cheaper!

Check out the demo if you don’t believe me: http://www.writewaypro.com/product_info.php

I know this article was long, but I hope you found something interesting! Let me know if you end up trying any of these programs, and be sure to tell me how they work out for you! Also, keep an eye out in the next week or so for Dark Awakening: The Kategan Alphas 2 is on the way!

Happy writing,

T. A. Grey

Write something awesome here....

