Finding that right book – A pirate story

What is it about a good book that drives us to excitement? I know for me the excitement begins in the hunt for the next book to read. I’ve always compared the edgy, excited feeling to that of a drug-addict looking for his fix. It’s a dramatic comparison and one I know nothing about personally (unless watching Intervention counts) but I do have a flair for exaggeration. Which makes me ridiculous often and therefore hilarious.

Yes, that's Fabio.

Yes, that’s Fabio.

I LOVE finding new books to read. I might even like it as much as actually settling into a new book and reading. The hunt is an experience all on its own.

Personally, I do research. I figure out what I’m in the mood for.

Lately, it’s been swashbuckling pirates from the olden-days where women always wore dresses (where real ladies had women to dress them!) and men could be rakes or rogues. We don’t call people that any more; in fact I’d question the fact that any one ever really used those words at all. (I’m surely wrong about that) For all I know it was an invention of romance writers some years ago. They are such sensual words: a rake, a rogue. It almost makes me shiver. Besides, when you have a tall, muscle-clad pirate who wears his shirtsleeves rolled up and his collar unbuttoned as he mans his ship, I can’t help but think (as a woman, naturally) oh yes. And, if he can do this while carrying a woman on his arm (see: any pirate romance novel cover ever) then I am only doubly impressed and must hasten to purchase said novel.

Romance_novels_015

What is with the white shirts? All these pirate heroes are always wearing white shirts. Logically I think it’s because dyed shirts back then might be expensive so white was common. However, my feminine writer/reader side thinks it might be so that we can all glory at how tan and golden these men really are. White really helps the contrast.

So, I hunt.

It’s a difficult undertaking because there are many requirements the book must meet. Such as 1) the book must be in a series, 2) the book must be sexy, 3) it must be funny without simpering heroines (bawdy women, please) 4) and lastly, it should surprise me. Naturally, I won’t learn if the book is filled with many of these attributes unless I actually start reading it. So, I look at the cover, read the blurb, buy the book, and hope for the best.

Ah, the hunt is over.

I’ve finally settled on a book and it had better be so damned good that I can gobble up the entire six book series in two days, tops! If it isn’t, the disappointment after all that searching, after discarding so many other choices that had potential just for this one book, I might just slam it closed and not touch another book for months. This level of disappointment has happened to me before. And, since the book was such a disappointment I couldn’t even tell you what the name of it was or who wrote it. All I do remember is the long dry spell of being scared to try and other books. This can go on for months even.

If you’re like me, then you get scared. That book that you had so painstakingly chosen to read had betrayed your trust. You thought it’d meet all of your mental little requirements that make a good book. Instead, it sucked hard. Some might even say it sucked balls. At times like this, I search for those trusted authors, you know the ones. The ones you can trust to always put out quality work that you love. You search for them but find out that you’ve read all of their books. They only release, at most, 2 books a year now. What am I to do? Wait another four months…or do I take a chance.

Well, I know that while my trust has been broken by this did-not-finish novel it can be restored by the right book and author. But what if I go through the hunt again and it turns out the same? Oh, the fear is like an itchy nag under my skin making me twitch. It has to be just right! Because if it isn’t…

09dvd.1.650You end up reading something that makes you scream in shock and horror. (Or just facepalm hard enough to give yourself a headache).

So, I search for a new book, a new series and author to lose myself in, someone who can take away all the dreariness, the boredom, the anything that accompanies us all everyday. I want to find some sassy, smart heroine to live vicariously through for many hours. I hunt and I search and then, gasp, I find something. Oh, it looks so promising and the cover is even a little different!

CareFeeding

What is this? A sassy looking lady feeding the pirate. Well, I dare say, I am all about this. I already love it. Just the look on this model’s face–so confident. And, the pirate has his shirtsleeves rolled up and his collar completely open.

YES! What more could I ask for?

Oh, and it’s in a series. Yes. Now this particular book is not the first in its series by Jennifer Ashley but it is the first that caught my attention. This particular hunt turned out well for me, allowing me to devour many pirate-infested books with just enough twists and turns to feel fresh and new.

The hunt is over. The book is over. The entire series is over.

What now?

Disappointment creeps in like cold filling your bones, curling your lip down. No, you don’t want it to be over. You need more! All of these books filled all your little requirements to perfection, but they’re over. Now you need something to fill that hole again.

So, what do you do?

The answer, naturally, is to go hunting again.

Happy reading, everyone!

T. A. GREY

8 thoughts on “Finding that right book – A pirate story

  1. This post….was AWESOME! :D

    Lately, I haven’t really had the time to read that much. :( It isn’t that I don’t want to (I always am eager to read), I’m just so incredibly busy right now. At least, until after June. Then I’ll be free to read as much as I please. :D Maybe one of those naughty-looking pirate novels… ;)

    The only thing I have time for at the moment is really short stories, like Richard Brautigan’s stuff.

    • Thank you! I tried to put some effort into this one and I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      I know what you mean. It’s so easy to get busy and not find time to read. It happens to me fairly often. So then when I do find time to read and I go on my little hunt only to turn up with a bad book, the disappointment only feels that much worse.

      I love me some short stories! Stephen King’s especially. :) I hope your schedule clears up a bit so you can lose yourself in a story, even if it is a pirate one. It might be a bit different from anything you’ve read before! Haha!

      • All the effort certainly paid off. ;) I think we can all relate to something like this. :D
        Hope your searching for more good books is successful! :D

    • This blog post nailed it right on the head for me! The hunt IS almost better than having a good book to read. One of my favorite things to do is go hunting on the Barnes & Noble web site for free book samples to download, just to have on hand so I’m sure I have something new and exciting to read after my current book!

      The thing about pirate novels is they make me laugh when I imagine comparing their heroes to what pirates *really* must have been like: Foul smelling, toothless thugs who probably went a little nuts out at sea… but that’s just my imagination. :)

      Has to be a series… YES! It’s so satisfying to know a likable characters from a great plot get their chance at love! I must say, though, one disappointing thing about finding a book that doesn’t meet your expectations is when you find out it’s the first book in like a TEN book series, and I’m like, “Awww, man, I really want to like this book so I can look forward to all these books to read!” I felt like that recently with the Dragonfire series by Deborah Cooke. Liked the first book, second one was OK, and I struggled through the third, even though there’s a bunch of them. One of the things that usually disappoints me first: When I can find a pattern in how the author lays out the plot in each book. Soooo boring when I can predict the couple will be interrupted the first few times they try to hook up, or when the fight-then-heal-then-move-ahead cycle gets old.

      Have to say, that’s one of the reasons why I just love your books, particular the Kategan series, is they are all so different, yet super hot! And when I realized it was a series, I just about died of excitement! Thanks for the Bellum sisters, too. :)

      • You and me are both sample queens then! I am all about the samples, which can be good or bad. They can grab my attention so that I buy the book but then the book still turns out to be a dud. So enters the frustration.

        Pirate novels are some total cheese but that’s part of what I love about them. I especially love how the Captain never smells, never has missing teeth or anything like that but usually his crew does. It’s totally ridiculous, but I still love the fantasy of it.

        Finding author’s patterns is so disappointing. I don’t even know if they’re ever aware of it. I know I’ve found many patterns while reading from how characters are dressed (or what kind of clothes they wear), to when the love scenes are, to how the love scenes will happen, and all that. It does become boring but I’ll keep reading anyway hoping for a surprise. lol. Predictability is not a good thing, huh?

        Thank you so much for the compliment. Nothing I love more than knowing people can read one of my series and enjoy it like that. Thanks for the comment, Lisa! :)

  2. [my best menacing look] And where are the pirate BUMS?

Write something awesome here....

